2022 Church History Class

Church History: The Story of the Church & Our Beliefs

“Consciousness of the past alone can make us understand the present.” ~ Herbert Luethy

In this course we will study the history of the church from its inception to today with an emphasis on how Christian doctrine was formed and how to continue to stand firm in the face of current challenges.

Date: 1/16/22 – 3/20/22 (10 weeks)

Sunday: 5 pm – 6:15 pm EST 美東, 4 pm – 5:15 pm CST 美中, 2 pm – 3:15 pm PST 美西, 6 – 7:15 am 北京 (Mon.)

Target: Seventh grade and above, welcome parents to join too. 七年級以上, 歡迎父母ㄧ起參加.

Instructor: Pastor Lenny Cheng

Location: Zoom – lecture followed by breakout room discussion by age

Registration: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfjBqrynyw-PPKg3peRnM-uS5w8YEFgfrAUytoqu-fHYJwKzg/viewform?usp=sf_link

國內報名: 電郵 姓名, 省份 到 trumpeterministries@gmail.com 註明: Church History

Instructor: Pastor Lenny Cheng (英文授課)

Location: Zoom – lecture and breakout room discussion by age

Textbook:

The Church in History by B.K. Kuiper

中文版:歷史的軌跡-二千年教會史 (校園)

Class Schedule:

 DateChaptersContentsPerson
11/16/22Chap. 1-2The Early Church  
21/23/22Chap. 3Heresy and Orthodoxy愛任紐 Irenaeus
31/30/22Chap. 4-5The Imperial Church, Ecumenical Council耶柔米 Jerome
42/6/22Chap. 6-8Early Medieval Church: Monasticism本篤St. Benedict
52/13/22Chap. 9-12Early Medieval Church: Papacy, Missionary Movement查理曼Charlemagne
62/20/22Chap. 13-20Late Medieval Church: Crusades法蘭西斯 Francis of Assisi
72/27/22Chap. 21-30Scholasticism, Reformation阿奎那 Thomas Aquinas
83/6/22Chap. 31-39Post-Reformation, Denominations, Puritan約翰·諾克斯John Knox
93/13/22Chap. 40-44Modern Church, Enlightenment, Great Awakening愛德華滋 Johnathan Edward 
103/20/22Chap. 44-50Modern Church, Enlightenment, Great Awakening威廉·克理William Carey

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: